Login

Arshi, Mona

Somebody Loves You

Arshi, Mona - Somebody Loves You, audiobook

13,85€

Audiobook
ISBN: 9788728047606

A teacher asked me a question, and I opened my mouth as a sort of formality but closed it softly, knowing with perfect certainty that nothing would ever come out again.

Ruby gives up talking at a young age. Her mother isn't always there to notice; she comes and goes and goes and comes, until, one day, she doesn't. Silence becomes Ruby's refuge, sheltering her from the weather of her mother's mental illness and a pressurized suburban atmosphere.

Plangent, deft, and sparkling with wry humor, 'Somebody Loves You' is a moving exploration of how we choose or refuse to tell the stories that shape us.

Perfect for fans of Avni Doshi, Ocean Vuong and Abi Daré.

'A sharply drawn world of wonder in elegant and lean prose. A fresh, innovative novel that is an ode to families, coming of age and sisterhood.' Roger Robinson

'A truly enriching read, Somebody Loves You is a glorious debut novel. I took this book with me everywhere and kept returning to it. I loved every perfect choice of word and turn of phrase in this vivid and tender, poetic and beautiful book.' Salena Godden

'Each sentence has the cadence of poetry, each phrase perfectly chosen, each word correctly weighed. This is a novel which reminds us memory and narrative are often not complete but rather are crystallised glimpses, which turn like a kaleidoscope through our mind.' Andrew McMillan

Author(s)
Reader
Publisher
Saga Egmont
Publication year
2021
Language
en
Edition
1
Category
Novels
Format
Audiobook
Duration
04:04:32
Tracks
66

We also recommend